2019 Diversity Award winners, flanked by Felicia A. Washington (Vice Chancellor of Workforce Strategy, Equity and Engagement), Gretchen C. Bellamy (Senior Director of Education, Operations & Initiatives, University Office for Diversity and Inclusion) and Kevin M. Guskiewicz (Interim Chancellor)


Due to the University’s Protocol regarding the COVID-19 virus, we have made the decision to cancel the ceremony for the annual Diversity Awards out of an abundance of caution.

We will, however, still be evaluating all of the nominations and announcing the award winners in all categories. Each winner will be featured on our website and via social media and will be presented with an actual award. We understand the disappointment that may occur due to this cancellation, but the safety of our students, faculty, staff, alumni and campus partners is of the utmost importance. The lack of a ceremony certainly does not diminish the fantastic work being done towards advancing diversity, equity and inclusion campus-wide. Please keep up the great work!

The Diversity Award recognizes significant contribution, time and effort of Carolina community members towards advancing an inclusive climate for excellence in teaching, research, public service and academic endeavor. The award has been given annually in six categories.


Individuals are eligible for the award every four years

  • Faculty
  • Staff
  • Undergraduate Student
  • Graduate/Professional Student
  • Alumni
  • Intergroup collaboration (an effort by units/groups/programs to bring together multiple perspectives to address a critical issue of equity or diversity at Carolina)

Nominations should reflect the ways a nominee has:

  • Advocated for diversity, equity and inclusion;
  • Demonstrated a sustained commitment to the advancement of diversity, equity and inclusion at UNC-Chapel Hill and/or in the community;
  • Modeled respect or inclusive treatment when interacting with others; and/or
  • Implemented an initiative, event or program which cultivates diversity and inclusion

Please answer all questions and go into as great detail as possible. Qualitative and quantitative characteristics will carry more weight in the decision-making process than multiple nominations.

Please check here for information in late March about this year’s winners.

The 2019 Recipients of the Diversity Awards


Jermaine Bryant

Jermaine Bryant (’19)


Mariel Marshall

Mariel Marshall
Master’s student of Clinical Rehabilitation and Mental Health Counseling in Allied Health Sciences


Senator Howard Lee

Howard Lee (’66)


Deb Aikat


Deb Aikat
Associate Professor, School of Media and Journalism

Evan Ashkin

Evan Ashkin
Professor, UNC Family Medicine


O.J. McGhee
Manager, Instructional Media Services
Gillings School of Global Public Health



Diversity and Student Success in the Graduate School

Criteria for the awards are:

  • Outstanding advocate for diversity, equity, and inclusion at the interpersonal, unit and institutional level
  • Demonstrates a commitment to the advancement of diversity and inclusion at UNC-Chapel Hill and/or in the community through research, teaching, service and collaborative partnerships
  • Demonstrates a commitment to creating a culture of inclusion within their areas of influence
  • Implements initiatives which cultivate/advance/model diversity and inclusion within the Carolina community

About the deliberation process: The award selection committee, made up of faculty, staff and students, will engage in a review of applications and apply a broad definition of diversity and inclusion for selection of finalists in each category.


Diversity Awards in the News:


Click here to view 2018 Recipients of the Diversity Awards

Click here to view 2017 Recipients of the Diversity Awards


2020 Diversity Awards Committee

Jaci Field, Director
Eddie Smith Fieldhouse, Athletics

Dr. Lloyd Kramer, Director
Carolina Public Humanities

Dr. DeVetta Holman Nash, Resiliency and Student Support Programs Coordinator
Student Wellness

Jamison Lowery
Undergraduate Student

Dr. Allen O’Barr, Director
Counseling and Professional Services (CAPS)

Megan Stanley, Graduate Assistant
University Office for Diversity and Inclusion

Meredith Tozzer, Graduate/Professional Student
Kenan-Flagler Business School

For further information, please contact D&I at diversity@unc.edu