Skip to main content

Award medallion


The Race, Racism & Racial Equity (R3) Symposium Planning Committee is inviting session topic ideas and individual scholarship proposals. The first four R3 events addressed UNC’s racist past and present, cultural appropriation, arts-based scholarship, and environmental justice. Details. Submit.

The Erskine B. Bowles Staff Service Award was established in 2010 by the UNC Staff Assembly to recognize employees whose accomplishments are consistent with the goals of the University and its public service mission. The ideal recipient must be a permanent staff member (SHRA or EHRA non-faculty) of any of the 17 UNC constituent institutions, the UNC System Office, or a recognized University affiliate and should: Exemplify excellence in their professional interactions and customer service within their university employment; Provide extraordinary service to their campus and UNC system outside their job description; and provide exemplary service to their surrounding community. The recipient of the award will receive a memento, a $1,000 award, recognition from the Staff Assembly and UNC leadership, and a short video about their service produced by UNC-TV. Deadline: Jan. 21. Nominate.

Nominations are currently being accepted for the University’s Robert E. Bryan Public Service Awards, the Office of the Provost Engaged Scholarship Awards and the Ned Brooks Award for Public Service. Up to five Bryan awards will be given to recognize an outstanding undergraduate student, graduate student, faculty member, staff member and officially recognized student organization. Up to three Provost awards will be given, one each for engaged teaching, engaged research and engaged partnership. Consideration for Bryan and Provost awards requires a nomination submitted through the Public Service Award nomination form, and nominees will be considered for all categories of awards for which they are eligible. Recipients will receive $500 with the award. The Ned Brooks Award for Public Service recognizes one staff or faculty member of the UNC-Chapel Hill community who, throughout their career, has made a difference in the larger community in a collaborative and sustained manner. Consideration for the Ned Brooks award is submitted through a different nomination form. Recipients will receive a $1,200 award. Deadline (for all awards): Feb. 16. Nominate.