Skip to main content

Ten people and two teams have been named recipients of the 12th Annual Diversity Awards. For the first time in the history of the award, closure of the university forced a virtual acknowledgment of the winners. “While the decision to cancel the public ceremony was a tough one, this in no way diminishes the contributions of this year’s amazing nominees,” noted Provost Bob Blouin. “I thank all of our nominees for their commitment to advancing Carolina’s work of support, respect and empowerment for all.”

The Diversity Award recognizes significant contribution, time and effort of Carolina community members towards advancing an inclusive climate for excellence in teaching, research, public service and academic endeavor. The award has been given annually in six categories: Undergraduate, Graduate/Professional Student, Alumni, Staff, Faculty and Intergroup Collaboration.

This year’s winners are: Andrea Prego and Graeme Strickland (Undergraduate); Geovani Ramirez and Effua Sosoo (Graduate/Professional); Angel Collie and Eugene Lao (Alumni); Monica Figueroa and Patricia Harris (Staff); Echo Meyer and Joseph Megel (Faculty); and TEAM ADVANCE and The Asian American Center Campaign (Intergroup Collaboration).

“[The recipients] are dedicated to making our University community a welcoming home to all,” added Provost Blouin. “The importance of working together toward a common goal of creating a more diverse, equitable and inclusive community – which the actions of the nominees represent – is why Build Our Community Together is the first strategic initiative in our comprehensive strategic plan – Carolina Next: Innovation for Public Good.

To learn more about the 2020 Diversity Awards winners, please visit or contact the University Office for Diversity and Inclusion at


Written by Adrianne Gibilisco

Comments are closed.