Skip to main content
2018 Diversity Award Winners
2018 Diversity Award Recipients (L-R: Katy McCullough [FPG], Jenille D. Morgan [FPG], Allison De Marco [FPG], Dawna Jones, Betsy Clifton Ayankoya [FPG], Dr. William Sturkey, Meli Kimathi, David Choi, Deanna Sipes, Dr. G. Rumay Alexander, Joshua Rowsey, Dr. Peggye Dilworth-Anderson, Monica Gaudier-Diaz [SPIRE], Lindsey Costantini [SPIRE], Brian Rybarczyk [SPIRE], Kristen Marion, Kate Kryder, Lathiena Manning [SPIRE], Shawne Grabs [on behalf of Kenneth Gaines Smith]

Ten individuals and two groups were honored at the 2018 Diversity Awards ceremony for their work advancing an inclusive climate for excellence in teaching, research, public service and academic endeavor.

This year’s recipients were:


  • David Choi (’18), Psychology & Neuroscience
  • Kristen Marion (’18), Music & Public Policy


  • Meli Kimati, Doctoral Student, Communications
  • Deanna Sipes, Doctoral Student, Allied Health


  • Joshua Rowsey (’13)
  • Kenneth Gaines Smith (’84)


  • Dr. Peggye Dilworth-Anderson, Professor, Department of Health Policy and Management, Gillings School of Global Public Health
  • Dr. William Sturkey, Assistant Professor, Department of History


  • Dawna Jones, Assistant Dean, Office of the Dean of Students
  • Kate Kryder, Co-Curricular Leadership Program Coordinator, Office of Student Life & Leadership


  • Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute RACE (Race, Ethnicity & Culture) Committee
  • S.P.I.R.E. (Seeding Postdoctoral Innovators in Research and Education)


More information about the Diversity Awards



Comments are closed.