Skip to main content

Proclamation Official StampGovernor Roy Cooper officially proclaimed November 2017 American Indian Heritage Month in the state of North Carolina.

The declaration cited numerous historical facts, including acknowledgement that “American Indians are the original inhabitants of North Carolina, having lived here for more than 12,000 years;” mention of the eight American Indian tribes recognized by the state – the Cohaire, the Eastern band of Cherokee, the Haliwa-Saponi, the Lumbee, the Meherrin, the Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation, the Sappony, and the Waccamaw-Siouan; recognition of the contribution of American Indian tribes to the state’s “rich and diverse culture, traditions, and history” and the continued challenges faced by American Indians.

To read the entire statement, please click here.

UNC-Chapel Hill’s American Indian Center hosts numerous events throughout the AIHM. To view the AIHM calendar, please click here.

Comments are closed.