University Diversity Awards

Increase font size
Decrease font size

About the Awards

DivAwardsThe University Diversity Award recognizes significant contribution to the enhancement, support and/or furtherance of diversity on the campus and in the community. The award is given annually in each of the eight categories listed below.

The next University Diversity Awards Reception is:

      March 22, 2016

Diversity Awards in the News:


Individuals and groups are eligible for the award every four years

  • Faculty
  • Staff
  • Undergraduate Student
  • Graduate/Professional Student
  • Department or unit
  • Student Organization
  • Alumni
  • Community Member or Organization

Recipients of the award will be honored at a reception in the spring. Nominations will open in January.

Criteria for the awards are

  • Advocated for diversity, equity, and inclusion of underrepresented groups and/or social justice
  • Demonstrated a sustained commitment to the advancement of cultural diversity and inclusion at UNC or in the community
  • Implemented or sponsored an event which cultivates diversity and inclusion
  • Demonstrated respect or inclusive treatment when interacting with others

Please note:

The University Diversity Awards are intended for those who go above and beyond their assigned duties to promote diversity, therefore employees who have diversity education, management or compliance as their primary or secondary job responsibilities are not eligible for the award unless they have made an extraordinary contribution beyond their employment role.

2015 Recipients of the University Diversity Awards



Alumni Award

Barb Lee ’88 (Journalism and Mass Communication)
President, Point Made Films, New York, NY

Department/Unit Award


Friday Center Logo



Community Award

Kara Stewart (Sappony)
Literacy Coach, Scroggs Elementary School, Chapel Hill, NC


Faculty Award

Dr. Rumay Alexander, Clinical Professor &
Director for Multicultural Affairs
UNC School of Nursing


Dr. Brian Hogan, Research Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry, UNC College of Arts and Sciences; Academic Director for the Scholars’ Latino Initiative


Graduate/Professional Student Award

Blessing Aghaulor, Doctor of Medicine Student
UNC School of Medicine

Student Organization Award


Amy Burtaine

Staff Award

Amy Burtaine, Interactive Theatre Carolina Outreach Coordinator
Student Wellness, Office of the Dean of Students, Student Affairs

 Brady_Gilliam_bw-croppedphoto from website (need permission) - bw-cropped

Undergraduate Student Award

Frank “Brady” Gilliam, First Year
Anthropology Major, Charlotte, NC


Trey Mangum, Senior
Public Relations – Journalism and Mass Communication, Roxboro, NC

Previous Award Recipients

2015 Diversity Award Committee

Diversity Award Chair
Dr. Marco Barker, Senior Director for Education, Operations & Initiatives and Clinical Assistant Professor-School of Education
Diversity and Multicultural Affairs

Diversity Award Coordinator
Carolyn Butler, Diversity Program Assistant
Diversity and Multicultural Affairs

Doris Brunson, Chair
Orange County Human Relations Commission

Dr. Richard Cante, Director for the Program in Sexuality Studies & Associate Professor of Media and Technology Studies
Communication Studies, College of Arts & Sciences

Mark Dorosin, Adjunct Professor of Law & Managing Attorney
Center for Civil Rights, School of Law

Kate Kryder, Assistant Director
Student Life and Leadership, Student Affairs

Dr. Valerie Lambert, Associate Professor
Anthropology, College of Arts & Sciences

Dr. Virginia Miller, Professor of Genetics and Associate Dean of Graduate Education
School of Medicine

Thupten Norbu, Associate Director
Carolina Asia Center

Ana Bermudez, Latina/o Medical Student Association
Graduate/Professional Student Representative, School of Medicine

Chloe Russell, Assistant Dean
Academic Advising, Undergraduate Education

Dr. William Vizuete, Associate Professor
Environmental Sciences & Engineering, Gillings School of Global Public Health

Andrew Wood
Undergraduate Representative

For further information please contact DMA at

Print Friendly