Increase font size
Decrease font size
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

9th annual University Diversity Awards

April 4 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

The University Diversity Awards recognize people and groups who have given their time and effort to further diversity and inclusion at Carolina and in our surrounding community. Please join the Diversity Awards Committee, Diversity and Multicultural Affairs, and Interim Chief Diversity Officer Dr. G. Rumay Alexander at a ceremony and reception honoring the following recipients of the 2017 University Awards:

  • Alumni – Kenneth Ward ‘84, Executive Director of College Bound in Washington, D.C., who earned a degree in Radio, Television and Motion Picture from Carolina
  • Community Member/Organization – (TIE) Ryan Spurrier of Wesley Campus Ministry and Black Alumni Reunion
  • Staff – Dexter Robinson, Academic Advisor, College of Arts & Sciences
  • FacultyMark Katz, Ruel W. Tyson, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Humanities, and Director, Institute for the Arts & Humanities
  • Graduate/Professional Student – Stephen Krueger, Master’s student of Science in Library Science, School of Information and Library Science
  • Undergraduate StudentJohnny Vang (senior, Hickory, NC) a biology major who is a member of the multicultural outreach and diversity executive committee for the Student Government Association, and works with the Health on the Block project, the Carolina Higher Education Opportunities Program and the North Carolina Health Careers Access Program.
  • Department – UNC Center for Civil Rights
  • Student Organizationnone, due to lack of eligible nominations
  • Special Recognition Award: Christopher Wallace of Communiversity Youth Program

About the deliberation process: Nominees’ names were removed during consideration to de-identify each candidate. Decisions were based on the contribution made by each individual or group. Committee members are:

  • Virginia Miller, Chair, Professor of Genetics, Department of Microbiology & Immunology, School of Medicine
  • Liling Hsiao, Associate Chair & Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Asian Studies
  • Sertanya Reddy, Graduate student, School of Arts & Sciences
  • Sara DePasquale, Assistant Professor, Public Law & Government, School of Government
  • Chloe Russell, Assistant Dean, Academic Advising, Undergraduate Education
  • Roy Hawke, Academic Director, School of Pharmacy
  • DeVetta Holman Nash, Assistant Director, Student Wellness
  • Monica Richard, Commission Chair, Orange County Human Relations Commission
  • Paul Cuadros, Associate Professor, School of Media & Journalism
  • Michael Dominguez, Assistant Professor, School of Education
  • Annie Francis, Coordinator of Student Affairs, School of Social Work
  • Tre Shockley, Undergraduate student, President, Black Student Movement
  • Cedric M. Bright, Assistant Dean, Admissions and Special Programs, Associate Professor

The University Diversity Awards Ceremony will take place on Tuesday, April 4, from 3-4:30 p.m. at the Pleasants Family Room, Wilson Library. To RSVP, please click here or visit http://go.unc.edu/diversityawards2017 (open until March 27).

For more information, please visit http://diversity.unc.edu/diversityawards or contact Diversity and Multicultural Affairs at diversity@unc.edu.

Virginia Miller, Professor for Genetic Medicine, UNC School of Medicine

Diversity Awards Chair

Xiaowen Qin, Director of Diversity Research, Assessment and Analytics, Diversity & Multicultural Affairs


April 4
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm


Pleasants Room, Wilson Library