Diversity Liaisons from schools and units across campus help D&I by reporting on programs and initiatives related to the five diversity goals of the University, serve as contacts related to diversity and inclusive excellence initiatives within their respective area, and assist UNC in advancing diversity, inclusion, and the Inclusive Excellence framework at Carolina. These reports are then compiled into our annual Diversity Plan Report. For reports of discrimination and harassment based on any protected status, please contact Equal Opportunity and Compliance at eoc@unc.edu or call 919-966-3567.


In January 2016, Dean Kevin Guskiewicz created the Dean’s Faculty Diversity Advisory Group.  Its members, representing divisions across the College, advise the dean in all matters of diversity and inclusiveness and will help him develop a five-year plan for key intiatives.  Its members are:

  • Kia Caldwell, director of faculty diversity initiatives
  • Renee Alexander-Craft, associate professor of communication
  • Frank Baumgartner, professor of political science
  • Claude Clegg, professor of African, African American and diaspora studies
  • Benjamin Frey, assistant professor of American studies
  • Jennifer Ho, associate professor of English and comparative literature
  • Sharon Holland, professor of American studies
  • Enrique Neblett, associate professor of psychology and neuroscience
  • Todd Ochoa, associate professor of religious studies

For a full listing of Diversity Liaisons within the College of Arts and Sciences, please click here.

Diversity Liaisons

School or Unit Liaison(s)
College of Arts and Sciences Terry Rhodes, Sabrina Burmeister
School of Social Work Travis Albritton
School of Medicine Harvey Lineberry II, Cedric Bright
School of Nursing Shielda Rodgers
School of Dentistry Matthew Morano
School of Law Bianca Mack
School of Government Sonja Matanovic, Sara De Pasquale
School of Information and Library Science Paul Jones
Summer School Jan Yopp
Gillings School of Public Health Trinnette Cooper
Eshelman School of Pharmacy Carla White
Kenan-Flagler School of Business Lynne Brody, James Johnson
School of Education Diana Lys, Kathleen Brown
School of Media and Journalism Louise Spieler, Lois Boynton
The Graduate School Maria Erb, Kathy Wood, Leslie Lerea
Office of Research Sibby Anderson-Thompkins
Accessibility Resources & Service Tiffany Bailey
AHEC Warren Newton
Athletics Martina Ballen
Carolina Performing Arts Reed Colver
Equal Opportunity and Compliance Rudy Jones
Finance and Administration Trevaughn Eubanks
Information Technology Steve Haring
Office of Human Resources Noreen Montgomoery
Office of Undergraduate Admissions Damon Toone
Office of University Council Neera Makwana Skurky
Scholarships and Student Aid Jacquelyn Copeland
Student Affairs, Office of the Vice Chancellor Bettina Shuford
Alumni Committee on Race and Ethnic Diversity Linda Douglas
University Development Linda Waldeck
University Libraries
University Registrar Amy Dunlap